Book Rwarview: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Leave a comment

December 13, 2014 by Sydney Nicole

Stars: 4.5/5


Synopsis from Goodreads: Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?


Review: After a 2 year reading slump, I’m so happy that this is the book that got me out of it. The story itself is so interesting and unique, I was hooked from page one. I loved the idea of two worlds being connected to one another through “portals” and how mysterious the book was. It was extremely well paced as well, since there was quite a lot of world-building to be done, I liked how the author didn’t throw so much information at you. The world does take some getting used to, but it all flows so nicely together (for example Karou’s earthly life and her other worldly life.)

There was quite a bit of character development, but not too much. I assume there will be a lot more development in the next two books since the world has been set.

As for the twist, oh my goodness I absolutely did not see that coming (for those of you who do not know what I’m talking about, go read the book and you’ll understand.) I’m a huge sucker for twists, but in some books I can see them coming and can tell what’s going on, but as for this one it took me completely by surprise and the build up to it was fantastic.

All in all it was an absolutely amazing book and I highly recommend it to any fantasy lover. If you’re new to fantasy, it is quite a lot to take in, but the pace is fantastic for new comers because information comes to you bit by bit.

Anyway, love ya guys and I’ll see you in my next review!! 😀

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

