Book Rwarview: Throne of Glass

Leave a comment

December 31, 2014 by Sydney Nicole

Stars: 5/5


Synopsis from Goodreads: After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another.

Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.


Review: This book. Oh my goodness this book. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have multiple feels attacks. I am in love with this world that the author has built, and Celaena Sardothien is such a badass protagonist it’s not even funny.

What I love most about Celaena is that she is very feminine while being a badass. She can want to be pretty, and still kick ass. She can be afraid, and still be strong. She can be insecure and still pound your face in. All around she is like your everyday, average, very lethal assassin. She also never loses herself and never forgets who she is and what her goals are, and she isn’t going to let anything or anyone get in her way.

The romance thing going on in here gave me so many feelings, I can’t even. I’m actually not going to get too much into it because I don’t want to accidentally spoil anything for you guys 🙂

As for the other supporting characters I can’t even tell you who I love more, Dorian or Chaol, both are so sweet and it feels like they can be actual real-life people. And Nehemiah (did I spell that right?) is also kick-ass and rebellious but she also has this mysterious aura around her and I just love it.

I also loved the consistency of the characters throughout the book, such as Celaena’s sassiness, or Chaol’s gruffness (even though we all know that deep down he’s just a big mushy sweetheart. Well, at least to me he is.) Prince Dorian is also so sassy and sarcastic and I’ve often times found myself smirking whenever him and Celaena are talking.

And the ending, oh my god that ending. So many feelings, and needless to say I need the next book. No joke.

Anyway, hope you guys enjoyed this review and I’ll see you in my next post!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

