Book Rwarview: In Real Life

Leave a comment

June 10, 2015 by Sydney Nicole

Stars: 2/5


Synopsis from Goodreads: Anda loves Coarsegold Online, the massively-multiplayer role-playing game where she spends most of her free time. It’s a place where she can be a leader, a fighter, a hero. It’s a place where she can meet people from all over the world, and make friends.

But things become a lot more complicated when Anda befriends a gold farmer–a poor Chinese kid whose avatar in the game illegally collects valuable objects and then sells them to players from developed countries with money to burn. This behavior is strictly against the rules in Coarsegold, but Anda soon comes to realize that questions of right and wrong are a lot less straightforward when a real person’s real livelihood is at stake.

From acclaimed teen author (Little BrotherFor the Win) and Boing Boing editor Cory Doctorow and Koko Be Good creator Jen Wang, In Real Life is a perceptive and high-stakes look at adolescence, gaming, poverty, and culture clash.


Review: So this is my first graphic novel in, like, awhile. I’ve been trying to get back into them lately, but I would be lying if I said I absolutely loved this story. I liked it, but I didn’t fall in love with it.

Let’s first get into the things I didn’t really like about this graphic novel. It was really difficult for me to feel attached to any characters, not even our main heroine, Anda. I felt like I didn’t get enough time to get to know her, heck I couldn’t even tell you what her personality is like. She seemed very flat and kind of almost didn’t think for herself. The story was a bit too quick as well, and I found myself wishing that it was stretched out to another installment or two. One minute she’s logging on for the first time, and next thing I know somehow she has a best friend named Lucy. I also wanted to learn more about Coarsegold and that whole world in it of itself. I may be one of the few, but I have to say these things bothered me a bit and disappointed me. I feel like the story could have had more depth and definitely could have used maybe another issue or two,

Now to the things I did like. I absolutely LOVED the artwork. It was actually the very thing that kept me going throughout the novel. It was so pretty and great to look at. I liked the message although it was a little difficult to get (it seemed all over the place.)

Overall, this book was okay. It may not be my cup of tea but it sure as heck probably will be yours!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

